5: Overlooked


I used to not be a big fan of the Quad, even when the cherry blossoms bloomed because it was the one time of year when people decided it was time to visit. Beyond not being a fan of crowds, I think the beauty of nature is lost when it is swarmed with people, all trying to take photos, particularly of themselves with the cherry blossoms in the background. The calm, serenity is completely shattered.

Although, today I decided to walk through. I had noticed a few photographers with tripods and DSLRs setup by a puddle, and I felt envious. “If only I had brought my own camera. I’ll have to make do with what I have,” I thought. I was excited since it was the sort of photo I would be into, and I was going to take a quick photo right by them, but I felt awkward doing so, and found another spot to take a look at. If only people would appreciate hidden gems like this, instead of going with the flow and doing what everyone else is doing.

I can’t say I’m unhappy with my results. I wish people would appreciate all cameras a bit more. There really is no need to have a “nice and fancy” camera to take “nice photos.” There’s more to photography than high resolution.

Lately, I’m becoming a fan of the cherry blossoms in the Quad, which I will not get a chance to see next spring.

Leave a Reply

