3: A New Season


Spring quarter is here, and I am greeted by the cherry blossoms in full bloom at the Quad. Although I am not fond of the sudden crowding merely because of the cherry blossoms, I admit that they are, in fact, quite beautiful. I was meaning to just take a photo for Snapchat just for kicks, and I ended up much more fond of the photo than I expected.

I had all three of my courses today, first of which is a Vietnamese class with five students, including me. It was exactly as it has always been in the past.

I was a bit excited for my air pollution class, but it was boring me to tears even on day one. I zoned out a bit too easily, although I am still interested in the course material as I feel this is a topic I should be more aware of.

My third class is a Japanese sociolinguistics class, which I was also quite excited about. I am very interested in how Japanese language and society affect each other, so I hope this turns out well. The first day was a bit jarring, although it was fun talking to a few of my friends in this class again.

On my way home, I walked past an area that had some new wood chips. Wood chips always have this fragrance that is nostalgic to me. It smells fresh and new, and always reminded me of the wood chips in my neighborhood and the ones from my elementary school’s playground. A very pleasant nostalgia. Reminds me of when I was a little kid, playing and running around.

Leave a Reply

